Contact: 073 777 4434 Email:


The Chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence (JSCI), Jerome Maake, wishes to express the committee’s appreciation for the applications received for the position of the Inspector-General of Intelligence.

The closing date for applications was 30 September 2021 and a number of applications were received.

The committee has considered the applications in accordance with the Intelligence Services Oversight Act 40 of 1994 (the Act) and the committee’s rules, and wishes to announce that the following candidates have been shortlisted.

  1. Rev Frank Chikane;
  2. Dr Setlhomamaru Isaac Dintwe;
  3. Ms Nomsa Evelyn Dlamini;
  4. Mr Imtiaz Ahmed Fazel;
  5. Brigadier General Phumzile Fongoqa;
  6. Adv Jayashree Govender;
  7. Mr Smanga Phillip Jele;
  8. Ms Faith Mosa Makhobotloane;
  9. Dr Nakampe Michael Masiapato;
  10. Adv Mahlodi Sam Muofhe;
  11. Mr Mampogoane Petrus Nchabaleng; and
  12. Dr Nyelisani Clarence Tshitereke.

The CVs of the shortlisted candidates will be uploaded on Parliament’s website in accordance with the Protection of Personal Information Act (POPIA). The committee invites members of the public and all interested parties to submit their comments on the shortlisted candidates to it for consideration. These should be submitted to Alutho Sombexe at by 5 January 2022.