Contact: 073 777 4434 Email:

All the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2022 winners!

Hosted by the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) and sponsored by Standard Bank, the first live Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards since 2019, saw the Daily Maverick’s Pieter-Louis Myburgh winning Story of the Year for Digital Vibes.

Myburgh also won the Investigative Journalism category for ‘’Digital Vibes’’ in Daily Maverick. He was one of several journalists who won the Investigative Journalism category in 2018 for the collaborative body of work “Gupta Leaks”. He is also the author of the book: Gangster State (Penguin Random House).

The Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year was shared by Shonisani Tshikalange of the Sunday Times and TimesLIVE and Onke Ngcuka, Daily Maverick. Ngcuka was a finalist in the Lifestyle category.

The Allan Kirkland Soga: Lifetime Achiever Award honoured Anthony Heard.

All category winners received the coveted Sikuvile Journalism Award Trophy, certificate and R15,000 prize money. All finalists also receive certificates.

The 2022 Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards winners:


Category 1:   Hard News


NAME                                      TITLE                                                    COMPANY

Winner: Team News 24    “July Unrest Breaking News”


Commendation: Mike Loewe “35 Fuel Stations dump Shell” Daily Dispatch


Category 3:   Community Service Reporting


Winner: Nomvuyo Ntanjana “Tatum De Pearce” SABC 2 And SABC News Channel 404
Commendation: Khaya Koko “Defenders of the last Complex standing” Mail And Guardian
Commendation: Don Pinnock “The evicted residents of District Six were robbed of the golden threads of


Daily Maverick


Category 4:   Investigative Journalism


Winner: Pieter-Louis Myburgh “Digital Vibes” Daily Maverick


Category 5:   Columns /Editorial


Winner: Mia Malan “The joke’s on us, South Africa”


Bhekisisa Centre for Health Journalism
Commendation: Setumo Stone “The EFF masterstroke” City Press
Commendation: Johanna Van Eeden “Hoekom is ons so geskok?” Beeld
Commendation: Willemien Brümmer


“Dis hoekom ons moet leer om ook na Nzimande te luister” Netwerk24


Category 6:  Visual Journalism (Editorial Cartoons & Graphic Layout)


WINNER:  Jaco Grobbelaar

Arisa Janse Van Rensburg

“Een jaar sedert eerste Covid-19-geval in SA” Netwerk24, Beeld & Die Burger


Category 7:   Features


WINNER: Willemien Brümmer



“Pandemie van verdriet”

Commendation: Don Pinnock BODY OF WORK

“Nature’s Defenders”

Daily Maverick



Category 9:   News Photographs


WINNER: Phandulwazi Jikelo


“Refugees left stranded without ablution facilities” Cape Times


Category 10:   Feature Photographs


Winner: Lucas Ledwaba


“Women bear brunt of gold mining’s rotten legacy” Mukurukuru Media


Category 11:  Sports Photographs


Winner: Phandulwazi Jikelo


“Red Bull King of the air”


African News Agency


Category 12:   Lifestyle

Winner: Graham Wood


“Kentridgenomics: What rocketing prices for William’s work say about SA’s art market” Financial Mail


There were no nominations for Category 2:  Indigenous Language Reporting In Community Media and

Category 8:   Popular Journalism.


Category 13:   Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year:

Shonisani Tshikalange and Onke Ngcuka


Category 14:   Story of the Year:

Pieter-Louis Myburgh, Digital Vibes, Daily Maverick


Category 15:   Allan Kirkland Soga: Lifetime Achiever Award

Anthony Heard